Ron Paul–a real media black out or just a lot of whining?

23 Feb

I’ll confess.  We don’t have a television in our house.  We own one, technically, but after over a year in our storage unit, it was “loaned” to our granddaughter.  Therefore, I have to confess, I have no clue what is available on television.  I do read the local paper several times a week, but most of my news is found online, via Yahoo, Facebook, Twitter, and Google Plus.

That means I find out about things in a haphazard manner, I suppose, and see the world through slightly distorted glasses as a result.  I don’t really know what the big networks are putting out in their news programs.  I also don’t think I’m missing much.  I was disgusted by television programming a long time ago.  I’m equally disgusted at the packaging of channels by cable and satellite companies.  I deeply resent being forced to buy channels that I will never watch just to obtain a handful that I may watch sometimes.  So…we opted out, a very long time ago.  Contrary to what some people think, I’m not a television snob…I’m just not interested in a non-stop parade of pseudo-news, sports, soap operas, silly sit coms, and game shows.  I don’t have the attention for “night time drama” either.  I refuse to schedule my life around television programs.  But…there are some programs I love…when I have the chance to see them.  Like “River Monsters”…or “Swamp People”…and even a lot of the cooking shows.  I think Ellen Degeneres is hilarious, and I like her talk/variety show.  I liked Oprah too, and I think she is an amazing woman.  There is a lot of great stuff on television…I just can’t be bothered with remembering when and where to find it.  On the other hand, the trashy stuff…is just trashy.  It encourages people who lean that way to indulge in progressively trashier behavior in my opinion, but they’d likely find an excuse anyhow.

But enough on the whole television thing.  What has come across my screen in a gazillion posts, blogs, websites, etc. is how poor Ron Paul is being blacked out from the media.  Now I’ll admit, I have a bad taste in my mouth over Ron Paul courtesy of one fanatical supporter who spammed me to death last week with garbage about him.  That chip on my shoulder has already got me glaring at his name.  But I can’t help but wonder…

Is all of this hype about how he’s being shut out by the media and “powers that be” of GOP more publicity to gather attention than reality?  It’s starting to look like that perpetually tattling 5 year old on the kindergarten playground running to the teacher with 101 offenses by his classmates to get attention for himself.  I see something about Ron Paul on the average of once every five minutes.  How in the hell is that a media black out?

I will admit…fanatics also scare the dickens out of me.  Fanatics are the kind of people that make car bombs, that shoot doctors outside of abortion clinics, that try to hire a hit man to shoot someone wearing fur, or do any of the other 1001 acts of terrorism that occur each year.  Ron Paul has what seems like an inordinate number of fanatical supporters.

I wonder if these are the same kinds of supporters who think that same sex marriages are a hazard to our society, that think that personhood laws should protect fetuses and embryos even at the cost of the mother’s life, who think that those who think or act differently from them should be punished for the offense…or any one of the other really scary right-wing bills we’ve seen floating around the nation are good ideas.

Don’t get me wrong…I’m not a true liberal.  I’m a conservative liberal on even days, and odd days, I’m a liberal conservative.  I believe in balance and common sense.  I don’t like a government that is invasive into normal, law-abiding citizens’ daily lives.  I also don’t think the government has any business deciding whether or not I will have a baby, get my tubes tied, take birth control pills, who I should or should not marry, etc.  (I’m done on the marrying front, by the way…Greg and I did tie the legal knot last fall.)  I do think we should have universal health care, but I’m also not convinced that the current Obamacare plan is going to do anyone a favor, let alone make universal health care available to everyone.  I think our government is too big, that corporations and big business have gone too far in terms of our politics and their ability to influence laws and politicians too.  I believe in our constitution too.   I think we need some serious house cleaning in terms of Washington D.C.

But I’m questioning whether I want someone like Ron Paul doing it.

I’ll admit, I like some of the things he says, but I’m also old enough to know that a lot of what is said will never happen after the oath of office is taken.  His supporters are what scares me, as I wonder…how much of their ideology does he really support?  How many of these people will follow him into Washington if he is elected?  How many of these people are going to have the ability to influence how I live my life?

That is what scares me.

That and the whining about how he’s being picked on.  Is it real…or just an attention grabbing ploy?

I don’t know, and it’s still months until ballot time, but this upcoming race is depressing.  We have few choices, and most of it looks like a choice between a rock and a hard place.  Sometimes, I think that the GOP offerings are designed to ensure that President Obama has another four years in office.  They are doing their best to make him look good, middle-of-the-road, and far less frightening than what they are intending to see happen in the Oval Office.

What do you think?  Which of the Republicans do you see making the grade and ending up on the ballot?  My best guess is that it will be Ron Paul, Mitt Romney, or Newt Gingrich.  I can’t see any of them choosing their competition as their running mate either, so the VP candidate could be interesting too.

November doesn’t seem far away enough right now to suit me.

8 Responses to “Ron Paul–a real media black out or just a lot of whining?”

  1. Timothy Long February 26, 2012 at 12:06 pm #

    Gia, I am a Ron Paul supporter, but I hear you. Every campaign has their share of fanatics….I was called a racist by my black friends when I would not support Obama 4 years ago…..When supporters want their candidate too win so badly, they’ll often resort to intimidation and name calling. Rick Santorum does not need fanatic supporters as he is fanatic enough alone. Most people I know in support of Paul simply discuss the issues and try their best to get Paul’s name and message out there to as many who would listen. Unfortunately, all camps have the fanatical element, which only harms their chosen candidate. Hopefully most people can look beyond these zealots and not judge the person these unstable people endorse. Guilt by association can be bad, but not always. Also, I found your article to be insightful and quite hilarious in some parts, and finding myself agreeing with you on many aspects. Keep up the good work; as well as the interesting topics you cover.
    Timothy Long

    • giascott February 26, 2012 at 7:26 pm #

      I hear you on the fanatics and the name calling bit. It is too bad that people do resort to those tactics, and don’t realize how much it harms their cause. One of my favorite quotes is “A fanatic never changes anyone’s mind.” It’s a very true statement, and one that I try to remember anytime I am passionate about anything.

      I’m glad you enjoy the blog and thanks for reading and commenting!

  2. Andrea Nicole Steer February 26, 2012 at 11:23 pm #

    Trust me, there’s a consorted effort to silence this man. I was actually a huge fox news and Rush Limbaugh slacky until I actually started to look into Ron Pauls message. The media is corporate owned and has become an arm of government. 30 years ago there were over 100 news agencies. Now there are only 5 that control the vast majority of what you see. The centralization of these corporate conglomerates have made them big hitters in the Washington lobby game. They aren’t just in the media game either. They have huge stakes in the military industrial complex and in the banking system. Ron Paul is a loud voice for ending the wars closing overseas bases and bringing the troops home which is a huge problem for these companies. He also is a big proponent of sound money, no bailouts of the banks and the leader in the effort to audit the federal reserve. The conflict is VERY apparent. Most online sites don’t have the same vested interests so that’s why he gets more favorable coverage. More coverage period. He wants to end the crony-capitalist system which is destroying the Republic and they are scared to death.

    As for you worrying about a Ron Paul trying to influence your life. His whole platform is about personal liberty! He by far has the most unintrusive idea of government. BY FAR! Please don’t let a few overly excited kids that don’t know how to communicate properly influence your decision regarding Dr. Paul.

    There is a real fight for freedom in this country. Our bill of rights was severely violated under Bush and is being further dismantled under Obama. I know 1 man can’t change everything but his ideals can. Thank you for at least caring about this important issue. Have a good one.

    • giascott February 27, 2012 at 10:33 am #

      Thanks for the commment.
      I think it will be interesting to see this play out over the next few months. As for me…I haven’t made up my mind. Overall, I’m just not particularly thrilled with the options, but maybe someone will change my mind still.

  3. Tony February 27, 2012 at 10:08 am #

    Gia, I suggest that you search for examples of Ron Paul media bias on youtube and you will find your answer. I used to say the same thing, until I did my research and guess what? It’s true. It hit me in the NH primary when Dr. Paul placed second place and I watched on MSNBC the post-tally discussion where he was not mentioned. Then I noticed he rarely got a chance to speak at the debates. It was clear, FOX trashes the guy and CNN ignores altogether. Makes ya wonder…

    • giascott February 27, 2012 at 10:35 am #

      Thanks for the comment, Tony.
      We’ll see how this plays out over the next few months. What I am finding interesting about this race is the one concern that Ron Paul shares with John McCain–his age. While that may be a legitimate concern with an older candidate, I find it interesting that it was frequently mentioned in McCain’s case, yet I’ve not seen a single reference to it in Ron Paul’s case. Instead, it does seem as though he is ignored/discounted most of the time, I’ll agree. It’s as though the mainstream media does not really consider him a viable candidate.

  4. matthew moore February 27, 2012 at 10:43 pm #

    Ron Paul is ignored by MSM. Jon Stewart has also commented and joked about it. No matter who gets in the whitehouse, he/she will have to deal with congress and be able to compromise, But Paul seems honest and it would be interesting to see how government would handle his presidency – no he won’t get the nomination.

    • giascott February 29, 2012 at 3:32 pm #

      So far, my guess it will be either Ron Paul or Mitt Romney…and I don’t see either one choosing the other as their running mate either.

      Still…we don’t know until the nomination has been made. It is a fascinating run to that day though.

Leave a Reply

