Black metal music, Brett Wehmeyer, and the Dawn of Shades

24 Nov

Last night, I was fortunate enough to host the second program in the series, Music in America on Gia Scott’s Dawn of Shades.  My guest was Brett Wehmeyer, and his roots were in Black Metal music. I’ll admit it, I’ve never been a fan of black metal music, but the series wasn’t really about the music I liked, but as a representation of the various genres of the music of America.  With only eight programs, obviously not all of the potential genres could be represented. For the first time, I could find out what the whole point of Black Metal music was though.  To me, it always sounded as though nobody in the band was on speaking terms with each other, and everyone was doing their own thing.  It turns out…I wasn’t all that wrong, because it is a type of music born out of hatred and theoretically is the sounds of hell. At least that explains the altering between a growling and a shrieking voice for the lyrics too. However, it also doesn’t mean that I’m suddenly a huge fan of Black Metal music either.  I’m a bit past the point of all that anger, violence, and hatred.  I’m a bit leery of music that glorifies it too.  I certainly don’t feel a need to revisit that type of negative energy and emotion at this point in my life. It sounded like he thought he was past that point too, and ready to move on to other things as well. All in all, it was a very interesting interview, with a lot of insight into the business of music as well. You can find the interview here.   0

Leave a Reply

