Kardashians–a symptom of the times

16 Nov

I’ll confess, I don’t watch television regularly.  We don’t even have one in our home.

With that said, I have seen reality television at other people’s houses.  It seems strange to try and carry on a conversation or eat dinner with the television as the centerpiece.  It doesn’t make sense to me.  Reality television makes even less sense for a lot of reasons.

First of all, why would anyone agree to such an incredible loss of privacy?  I can’t imagine a television crew in my home, as I get out of bed in the morning and start stumbling into my day.

Seriously, I’d have to like…comb my hair, put on clothes, even act civil.  I don’t want anyone to know that I don’t like to even speak for the first thirty minutes, and it doesn’t have anything to do with being grumpy or tired or anything else.  I like to get up, hang out in my t-shirt, let my brain cells start zapping each other, re-establish conscious communication with myself…even watch the rain run down the window pane (I’m doing that right now, as a matter of fact.)

How real can reality television really be?  It’s edited, it’s undoubtedly staged, and it sure as heck isn’t anything like any reality I’ve ever known.

Well, Greg can cuss well enough to put Ozzy Osbourne to shame.  I gripe at him to cool it, I absolutely hate a continual stream of foul language.  It’s not that I’m a prude, I was a guard in a men’s prison, once upon a time, believe me…I know ALL of the words.  I just don’t like it at home.  Maybe reality tv would force him to drop the habit of cussing when things go wrong, and reduce my stress level.  On the other hand, he might get worse, and that wouldn’t be to my liking at all.

Our life is incredibly modest, and the whole Kardashian thing seems to be to glorify greed, sexuality, shallow value systems, and gluttonous consumption.  I didn’t see why anyone thought a lot of it a year ago, and after the recent wedding/divorce fiasco…my opinion hasn’t changed.  I’m a little surprised at the recent backlash against them regarding it though.  The wedding and it’s brief endurance seemed to be just one more example of the entire gluttony that they exemplify.  Mass media seems to glorify that, despite the poor economy that has more people unemployed, underemployed, destitute, and even homeless than ever before.

Even in the White House, we have Michelle Obama and her staff, her continual wardrobe of designer clothing, and the contrast of a population that is becoming used to doing more with practically nothing.  The media presents us with one story after another illustrating the difference between the “haves” and the rest of the population.

I can’t even afford Levi jeans anymore.

In a way, the whole Occupy Movement is not a surprise.  It’s hard to stay hopeful, to even dream of getting the American Dream yourself, and it’s like a slap in the face to have the television illustrating how different these people’s lives are from the average real American family’s life.  The gluttony of the so-called “1%” is becoming a very bitter pill as the entire country wallows in this “recession” that seems to have no end.

It’s not about a hand out either.  I know a lot of unemployed people, and they just want to get back to work and make a decent living.  They really don’t want the food stamps, unemployment, and nightmare of trying to prevent their car from being re-possessed, their home from being foreclosed, their utilities from being shut down, or from being forced to double up with relatives or friends to make it. They want a life again, where they can save and plan for their futures, where they can afford their dream wedding…and not for a 14 week marriage either.

The Kardashians and their glorification of gluttony need to go away.  I’ve heard enough about them, and that was long ago before the wedding and divorce.

Good grief, a pair of jeans should last longer than that marriage did!

Leave a Reply

