The wedding plans continue~

25 Oct

I’m still not home, hanging out with my daughter and my mother and finishing some details for the wedding.

Today’s details?

We went shopping…for things like finishing my veil ala hippy.  It’s going to be a gorgeously outrageous, a rainbow of colors.  Perfect with the bandana headband and the tie dyed shirt.  Sort of traditional, and sort of not…it’s plain fun.  On the route through the store, I also got my table cloths, cake plates, and utensils.  I already had the serveware.

My daughter, on the other hand, was shopping for wedding cake stuff.  I’m not sure what it involves other than being multi-layered.  She won’t let me see anything–it’s supposed to be a surprise.  I’m more worried about her “biting off more than she can chew.”  She has to transport this cake in a sports car for about a hundred miles.  That’s a lot of miles to have something go wrong.  Then again, it’s not my job to really worry–I just don’t want her ending up upset.  I’d told her a hundred times to “keep it simple”.

Tomorrow morning, we’re heading home, dogs in tow.  I’ve been gone almost a week, and seldom visited the internet for email or anything else while I’ve been gone.  I’ll have a lot of things to do, and not much time to get it all done.

We still have food to cook, and I still have to get the stuff set up for the make shift steam table.  We are nearing the cut off point on the budget too–I spent more today than I had planned, actually.  I also discovered that anything labeled for “weddings” is priced far higher than anything in any other part of the store.  Ring pillows ran from $20 on up…way too much for something that sees a few minutes of use.  Same thing for our guest book–we opted for a non-wedding book for our guest book, one with a more appropriate theme for our hippy wedding.  Wedding bouquets?  Priced at over $50 for silk flowers.  I opted for fall flowers and it cost less than $5.

I could write a book on how to do a cheap wedding at this point.  Our goal is to keep it under $200 for everything except the food, which is split among me, my mother, and my daughter.  Our menu is simple too–pulled pork, baked beans, potato salad, and cole slaw, with wedding cake, of course.

I’m both nervous and excited.  I’m crossing my fingers and hoping that nothing goes wrong and we don’t forget anything.  I want everyone to have fun, and that’s the most important thing of all.

Leave a Reply

