Wedding…in a week

22 Oct

Greg and I are getting married, and the wedding date is now just a week away.  People ask all the time if we’re nervous.  I can’t speak for Greg–he hasn’t admitted any nervousness to me.  Then again, I’ve not talked about any nerves with him either.  There are nerves, but they probably are of a different kind than many brides experience.

I’m not nervous about marrying Greg at all–we have been engaged over three years and living together for nearly that long.  We’ve been friends for WAAAAAAAAY longer than that–we know each other, good and bad, pretty well.  He’s my best friend.  He’s my best champion too.  I know I can count on him.

I’m more nervous about the wedding.

Silly, huh?  But there are a lot of things that have to come together, without a hitch.  Everything from the ceremony to the gathering afterwards.  I have to make sure that everything is “perfect” because I’m just plain bad about that.  It’s not even a big wedding–we’re only anticipating about thirty people to actually attend, although the invitation was given to ten times that number.  With the economy and distances involved for so many of our family and friends, attending just isn’t possible for everyone.

We’re doing everything ourselves, too.  My daughter is cooking the pulled pork for the gathering (she makes THE best pulled pork!) as well as the wedding and groom’s cakes.  I’m going to make the potato salad and baked beans.  My mother is going to make the cole slaw.  We’ve got the food covered.  Everyone is supposed to bring chairs with them, and we’ll bring along a few extras.  I’ve got two six foot tables and two four foot tables, which should give us enough tables.

I’ve still got some shopping to do too.  I need the table cloths, I still need my head gizmo and veil.  I’ve procrastinated to the point of crazy about that, but I honestly hadn’t found what I was looking for.  I’m not sure how I’m going to make that yet either.

I’ve got to do the tie dying too.  Since we’re having a hippy wedding, we’re tie-dying matching shirts.  I’ll even have a matching purse!  I’ll also do a shirt for my daughter and one for my granddaughter–they need a tie dyed shirt too, right?

I’m taking a couple of days off–I’ve been away from home since Thursday, and I’ll not return home until Monday.  On Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday…90% of our preparations will take place.  I’m starting to feel the pressure.

I have a LOT of things to get done, and not much time to really do them.  I’ll do some shopping on Monday, picking up some of the essentials on our way home.  Some things, I’ll leave to an act of faith with my daughter and mother, like the pulled pork, cakes, and cole slaw.  Others will be a lot of slow cooking as the beans start cooking on Tuesday to ultimately end up as baked beans on Saturday.

It’s not being married that is the pressure now, I have no worries about being married to Greg.  My sole worries are about pulling off one casual meal on the beach on Saturday afternoon, something I’ve managed many times before without the word “wedding” attached to it.  Therefore, my worries are silly, right?

I somehow won’t relax though until a week from Sunday, when it’s all behind us and we’re embarking on our honeymoon.

Whew.

I’m so glad I’m not a young bride with a 101 things to worry about.  I’m thankful that I have no worries about life with Greg too.  Now if I can just calm the wedding dinner jitters….

Leave a Reply

