Fantastic socks that really don’t bind!

27 Dec

I don’t dwell on the fact that my next birthday will be the half century mark, or that I’m much fatter than I should be, and even fatter than I want to be.  I’ve got more pressing things to spend my time contemplating.  They may be no more important, or more indicative of who I am than the things I don’t dwell on, but they are much more interesting to think about.

But, every now and again, I have something begin to irritate me.  Lately, it’s been socks.  Why socks?  The tops would start digging into my ankles or legs (depending on what kind they were) and causing painful swelling that I deemed probably not the healthiest thing in the world.  I had a few pair that were inoffensive in that regard, but face it…when you are doing laundry once every week or two, two pairs of socks aren’t going to make it through.

So, in the pre-Christmas madness, I decided that I needed more socks.  My feet were freezing, making me feel much colder.  It was definitely sock season.

I searched and searched, and frankly, the Walmart in Pascagoula, Mississippi didn’t have much to offer someone who was looking for comfortable socks.  I don’t care what color they are, but I wanted loose at the top socks that would keep my feet warm and cozy inside of my shoes.  I finally was down to two options.  One package of 6 crew socks and two pairs of Dr. Scholl’s diabetic & circulatory socks.  I opted for the crew socks, as the Dr. Scholl’s socks were $6.50 for two pairs and I was feeling cheap.

I got home, opened the packaged and knew I’d made a mistake.  This bulk pack held cheap socks that weren’t soft just out of the package.  The stiffly elasticized tops weren’t boding well either, and I was right.  I was in agony and pulling them off in two hours.  With five new pairs still in the bag, I went without socks as our tempertures dropped.  I could not face the pain of wearing those.

Today, I returned to the scene of the crime, and this time…I wanted Dr. Scholl’s diabetic & circulatory socks.  I got home, I put them on, and bliss…

Seriously.

warm

soft

non-binding tops

Absolutely perfectly fitting socks, even though I wear a 9 1/2 shoe and often find women’s socks a bit short.  These claim to fit shoe sizes 4-10…and I’m certain the upper end of the range is correct.  They are soft, they are comfortable, they are warm!

Now I bought one package of low-cut Dr. Scholl’s socks.  They had crew socks too, but I opted for this package to try.  (Remember the 5 discarded and unworn socks I already have?)

I now know what I can buy and depend on fitting.  I now know what I can buy and depend on fitting my daughter and my mother too.  Why EVER buy socks that are uncomfortable, thin, and obviously of inferior quality when you can buy dependably good quality socks to wear every day?  I have to say, when I’m willing to buy and use a product it’s one thing, but when I’m willing to give the same thing to my mother and my daughter as gifts with a use…that says I believe in them wholeheartedly.  These are good socks for every day wear.

2 Responses to “Fantastic socks that really don’t bind!”

  1. Juanita November 10, 2011 at 12:16 am #

    Thank you so much for your suggestion of Dr. Scholl’s Diabetic socks. My husband is having alot of discomfort in his calves due to the new Gold Toe socks I bought him and I started searching this evening determined to find him some comfortable socks. Thanks so much for your suggestion. I’ll get some at WM tomorrow!

    • giascott November 10, 2011 at 4:18 am #

      I love the socks too, although the swelling that was causing me so much discomfort has now been brought under control, I still like the comfort of the diabetic socks. The tops don’t dig in! My sole complaint has been that they don’t seem to last as long as traditional “regular” crew socks, and if your shoes are loose in the heel (a common problem with wide feet/narrow heel combinations) the shoe will “eat” the sock as you walk because the top isn’t digging into your leg for traction to resist the friction in your shoe. I decided it was worth the bother of pulling up socks occasionally to avoid the discomfort of socks that bind on the leg! It’s also more than discomfort, as the binding effect can contribute to such issues as blood clots, poor circulation, etc., all of which are issues that plague us as we age.

Leave a Reply

