Aching feet and shoes and fashion

22 Nov

I’m so tired of aching feet.  It seems like every pair of shoes that I tried irritated the big toe on my right foot, except for my Crocs.  Shoe designs seemed to be leaning towards a slimmer toe than my feet could comfortably accommodate.  That in turn prompted another observation.

When your feet hurt, life sucks.

Last month when my granddaughter was born, I spent a LOT of time at the hospital.  Often, we’d be banished from my daughter’s room waiting for some procedure to be done, and we’d be left to wander the waiting areas or parking lot.  That gave me ample opportunity for some pre-holiday people watching, and specifically, watching women walk.

I would guess that over half of the women I saw entering the hospital, apparently to visit someone, were in serious pain from their feet, forcing them to practically hobble in their dainty and uncomfortable shoes.  Young women were more likely to avoid the obvious hobbling, perhaps because they have not been abusing their very foundation with ridiculous shoes for decades.

Why on earth are these women all wearing shoes that were obviously causing them such severe pain?  It couldn’t be economics–many of them drove expensive cars and were carrying expensive gifts or flower arrangements into the hospital.  I can’t seriously believe its the inability to FIND more practical footwear, since they were capable of visiting the hospital, buying gifts or flowers, etc.  I don’t want to believe that it was because of being too stupid to realize their feet hurt.

Are most women seriously that devoted a slave to fashion?   Especially the post 40 age group?  Do they think it makes them look young and beautiful again or what?

Maybe I’m a fashion disaster, but I’m pushing 50 real hard now, and that means I don’t have time for feet to hurt, and I have NO interest in wearing uncomfortable clothing either.  I understand that sometimes I have to dress and look the part of someone who is socially acceptable, but I don’t think I should be asked to be in discomfort or outright pain to do so.  Nothing is going to make me look slim and young again, and I’m NOT either one!

Just like my hair.  It’s gone platinum.  Yeah, I know women usually go gray, but I decided I wasn’t ready to be old yet, even if I am now (finally!!) a grandmother.  At the same time, I grew heartily sick of dyeing my hair, dealing with weekly touch ups, and still ending up looking more like Cruella deVille than I wanted to.  It was a pain in the you-know-what, and then I read that women who dyed their hair for over 20 years were statistically much more likely to develop Alzheimer’s disease than any other group of women.  Just in time, I had been given the perfect excuse to have long platinum hair with silvery highlights.

I must admit, I went gray young.  Often, I find myself having a shopkeeper refer to my fiance as my son.  (Rolls eyes.)  Society’s double standards…to have gray hair, I must be old, right?  Whereas a man with gray hair is merely distinguished?   Now that I’m rapidly getting close to that half century mark, I really thought that it was time to let my hair go natural and quit worrying about it.  So…I did.  Granted, because of having long hair, I did go through a long phase of “reverse streaking” to make the transition more natural in appearance than the zebra-like streak that would have appeared otherwise.

I have no plans on becoming a fashion icon for the middle aged crowd.  I honestly don’t care.  I like jeans that are comfortable.  I like t-shirts and scrub tops and overalls and flannel shirts and sweat shirts.  I like skirts that are cotton and wide, often tiered too.  I like deep rich colors.  I like easy to wash and dry clothing.  I’m not crazy about dressing up these days, and rarely wear any jewelry anymore, I sort of got out of practice–I couldn’t wear it to work for a very long time.  I quit wearing makeup as a regular thing, although I do still wear it on occasion (rarely these days!)  I wear my hair long, and typically have it in a ponytail or clipped up in one of those weird clamping gizmos, and don’t usually leave it down except at home.

Living in the South, I’m finding great merit in the idea that older Southern women can be eccentric and odd.  Eccentric and odd fit me well, like a favorite pair of jeans.  I don’t want my feet to hurt so that someone looking at me feels good.  I figure they should wear those horrible shoes themselves instead.  I’d rather be happy, and who can be happy when they want to cry because their feet hurt?  It’s a fact of life, as we age, we have aches and pains.  Why have an optional ache or pain?  I search and search, and I did find some shoes that felt good on my feet.  They are those shoes to tone your legs…so you look good.  I don’t care if I look good, I just want to FEEL good, and if those odd looking shoes make my feet happy, I say go for it.

I bought two pairs.

I don’t know if my legs are looking good, but the smile on my face keeps anybody from caring if I have great legs or not.  I’m not snapping at innocent store clerks because my feet hurt, and I’m not grumping at the dogs and my fiance either…because my feet don’t hurt.  My legs must be in better shape, because I’m not hobbling around in agony either.

Life is good when your feet feel good!

Leave a Reply

