Tassimo customer service round 2 plus Slovenia, China, Asia, Mexico and more!

22 Sep

I had decided to keep my Tassimo machine.  When it comes down to it, I do really LOVE the coffee it makes.  I know its expensive, and on my current budget crunch, it’s a true luxury item, but I still adore it.  So, having the new cleaning disk in hand, courtesy of the Tassimo company as a peace offering after the fiasco of trying to order one…I plugged it in, and proceeded to try to use it so that my machine was restored to a functional state.

Uh oh.

It recognized the bar code, knew it was about to clean the machine…and then informed me that it was time to consult the owner’s manual.  It was a nightmarish scene, all too reminiscent of the complaints I had read in blogs and reviews when I was so furious with their customer service department over the attempt to order from Tassimo Direct.

It meant I had to call customer service at Tassimo again.  It meant I had to run that gauntlet of inefficiency again, inspiring me to a state of aggravation that usually only Microsoft and Sprint grant me.

It took me two hours of dread to get up the nerve to punch the number into my telephone.  I then was eventually connected to Jay after a confusing few minutes with the automatic interface and button pushing test.  I almost failed the button pushing test…cell phones, when equipped with QUERTY keyboards, are not particularly friendly to the button pushing tests.  Apparently, the sounds they make are not exactly what a standard push button phone makes…but I managed to make my selections.  Apparently, whoever set up the automated section didn’t believe they would have a problem with the machines themselves, so it was sort of guess as to which of the 3 choices it would be.  I opted to select for the  “shipped to my house” option, since the machine had arrived from Amazon.com.

I could be wrong, but I suspect that Jay (or a clone of him) was the second customer service representative on the first encounter that had me so furious…but today’s call went much smoother.  I’m convinced that either their customer service is located off-shore or they have hired immigrants only, as Jay seemed to have a great deal of difficulty with the simple chain of events that lead up to the decision to declare the machine non-functional.  We went over the series of events several times before he grasped how it went: I put in the cleaning disk, it recognized it and said it was about to start cleaning, I pushed the start button, it says to consult the owner’s manual.  I realize that it was a jump in understanding to realize that yes, it was reading the bar code because it recognized that it was about to clean the machine.  I know that customer service agents have to be very precise and go to the beginning…but this machine was shipped to me last October, so obviously I should have used it before today.  I also realize that this machine has probably not worked correctly since last spring, since it had had virtually zero use this summer during all of our chaos and busy days.  It had another reprieve for the last two months since I thought the issue was that it needed cleaning, not that it was defective.

Oh well.

Aggravation aside, the 12 month warranty period has not expired until next month.  Jay informed me that they were sending a new machine and that it should arrive in about 2 weeks.  I wonder…will the warranty automatically cover this new one for a year or will my coverage end a week after the replacement machine arrives?

But, according to Jay, it is unusual for machines to fail.  Reviews say otherwise, so I’m not going to get real hopeful.  I did notice something…my defective machine was manufactured in Slovenia.  Since it was not a country covered in my school days’ geography classes, logic tells me that this country must be in Eastern Europe and part of the former Soviet Union, since all of that was colored red on the maps and left mysteriously unnamed.  Further questions about its location and history informed me that it was part of the former Yugoslavian republic.  I found that intriguing in itself, as I was unaware of their status in the current manufacturing field in terms of the world economy.  Its kind of funny in a way…I’m usually more aware of imported products I use.  I know my favorite little low-tech stovetop expresso pot comes from Italy.  My “French” rolling pin comes from the Phillipines.  A lot of things come from China and other Asian countries.  Other products are assembled in Mexico from USA made components.  Part of me wonders…what on earth is made in the USA?  Here on the Gulf Coast, it was never a major manufacturing area, but even so…scores of empty warehouses and factories stand with weeds growing in their fenced in lots, unused.  The neighborhoods surrounding them are often poverty stricken with old cars, sagging porches, and tired faces.  They are filled with people who would be more than happy to have a job with a company that treated them fairly and offered the health insurance that everyone is up in arms over.  It’s kind of sad to know that those jobs are no longer to be found in the USA, as more and more companies opt to move their operations and customer service overseas and south.  The largest employer in the USA is now the government, and part of me wonders how long before they outsource their services too.

Imagine…calling Vietnam to register for food stamps in the USA, right after registering for job services with a representative in Bosnia, while using a telephone made in Ecuador on a telephone system operated by a company in Korea after driving to your local job service office in your Japanese car fueled by gasoline from Iraq to discover that on the door, written on paper made in South Africa, by a marker made in Poland…was a note saying the office was closed and to contact them through their website or telephone number.

One Response to “Tassimo customer service round 2 plus Slovenia, China, Asia, Mexico and more!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tassimo saga continues… « Gia Scott - October 22, 2010

    […] Tassimo customer service round 2 plus Slovenia, China, Asia, Mexico and more! Calendar […]

Leave a Reply

