Consumer anger and my Tassimo coffee maker

1 Sep

I have a Tassimo coffee maker.  I used to love it, and thought the coffee was fantastic.  In the process of moving and downsizing, I’ve lost my cleaning disk.  Who knows where it went.  No worries, I thought…Tassimo.com sells them.  Happily, I went off to the website to buy my missing cleaning disk, as well as some more coffee for my beloved machine.

To make a long story short, the shopping cart kept rejecting my credit card, claiming it was an invalid CVS number.  Checking with the bank, the number was perfectly valid, however, now I had a new problem.

Tassimo had charged me 6 times.

I like the coffee, but over $160 for coffee?  Get real!

I called customer service at the number provided by the website, and then I discovered a phenomena I’m calling “consumer anger.”  I have a customer service agent on the phone with heavily accented English informing me I must call back in 24-48 hours to fix the problem or I can fax them a copy of my bank statement.  It’s now been 72 hours since the original order was attempted, and I have to wait 24-48 hours MORE?   I can also fax a copy of my bank statement, and when the orders arrive, I can send them back.  I demand a supervisor, but amazingly, they are all busy.  Perhaps because of the general incompetence of their customer service agents?

I hang up in frustration, and call back hoping to find competence in customer service.  Yes, I know…futile effort, right?  It was futile, but I’m now getting madder and demanding the supervisor in every other sentence.  I finally get one.  At this point, I no longer want ONE of the orders, I want these charges fixed, and I have completely lost faith in the ability of Tassimo.com to correctly process an order for less than $30 of product.  Customer service couldn’t even get me a supervisor without me getting hostile (but I didn’t get abusive or foul-mouthed!)  The supervisor tells me, 10 minutes into the conversation, that duplicate orders are automatically discarded from their system–a fact that would have been nice to know with the FIRST customer service agent, and greatly reduced my hostility.  All I was consistently told was to call back after 24-48 hours longer or to fax them my bank statement, that they could  not help me.

A week is passed, the order was cancelled, the charges dropped, and I have a useless Tassimo coffeemaker demanding a cleaning disk.  I dare not try and order one from Tassimo…this one might run up even higher charges!

So, want to buy a Tassimo machine, real cheap?  I’d recommend using Amazon.com if you want supplies.  They may have a vast website, but they have NEVER overcharged me, duplicate charged me, or sent me the wrong items or duplicate orders.  With customer service like Tassimo’s however, I don’t anticipate the machines gaining much popularity.  I wonder…how is Keurig?

Just for general information, I googled “Tassimo customer service” to see what I got.  Take a look at some of these links, if you don’t think I’m being completely honest about the crappy customer service from Tassimo.  So, if you are shopping for a single serve coffee machine, go with Keurig.  The K-cups may not be as good, but the availability and customer service is much better.

http://cc.tassimo.liveworld.com/topic/Welcome-Caf%C3%A9/Tassimo-Customer-Service/570000879

That’s their own forum to boot.

http://bosch.pissedconsumer.com/bosch-tassimo-customer-service-agents-full-of-crap-20100705188330.html

http://customerservicenumbers.com/co-tassimo

http://www.amazon.com/review/RUNSCKK9IX6Z4/ref=cm_cr_pr_viewpnt#RUNSCKK9IX6Z4

http://blog.webnme2.com/?tag=tassimo

http://www.abt.com/product/41154/Bosch-TAS4511UC.html Click on the review tab and scroll down

http://www.buzzillions.com/reviews/bosch-tassimo-tas4511uc-coffee-maker-single-serve-reviews

6 Responses to “Consumer anger and my Tassimo coffee maker”

  1. Dave November 12, 2010 at 1:38 am #

    We, too, have had terrible customer service with
    Tassimo. There seems to be incredible secrecy surrounding Tassimo:
    1. Customer service reps are in the Philippines;
    2. Tassimo is somehow owned or partially owned by
    Kraft Foods, but the Kraft Customer Service folks didn’t have a phone number for calling Tassimo’s HQ (and they didn’t know where the HQ is located);
    3. Kraft Customer Service forwarded my complaint to their Tassimo contact who is in Canada.
    4. The Tassimo “Executive Rep.” in Canada said she would not be able to locate or tell me any phone numbers for the Tassimo HQ (which she said is in Dover, Delaware).

    How can this be a good business model?

    • Sandra Lynn Streder Robson March 25, 2012 at 3:53 pm #

      I THINK EVERYONE WHO BOUGHT A TASSIMO GOT RIPPED OFF. YOU CAN’T GET ANY ANSWERS FROM ANYONE!!!!! AS EXPENSIVE AS THEY ARE, YOU WOULD THINK THIS PROBLEM COULD BE RESOLVED…….AT LEAST BY KRAFT……A WELL KNOWN COMPANY. I SAY….BOYCOTT KRAFT PRODUCTS IF YOU POSSIBLY CAN AND LET THEM KNOW HOW ANGRY WE ARE……WITHOUT US CONSUMERS, THEY WOULD’T BE WHERE THEY ARE NOW!!! BOYCOTT KRAFT!! BOYCOTT KRAFT!! BOYCOTT !!

      • giascott March 25, 2012 at 7:26 pm #

        My Tassimo disaster (since gone away–it aggravated me every time my eyes landed on it) was manufactured by Bosch. I didn’t know (and haven’t verified) that Bosch was owned by Kraft.

  2. Alan Roberts June 14, 2012 at 8:43 am #

    Tassimo are not interested in you once they have sold you their machine.
    Look elsewhere if I was you!
    When I bought my machine I was promised a £20 voucher to spend in their web shop.
    I registered and should have got my voucher by email. It didn’t come.
    I’ve been trying to get hold of them by phone and email ever since.
    I finally got them today. They say they sent my voucher by email.
    They realise I haven’t used it but tell me its more than six weeks since I registered my coffee machine and the voucher only lasts six weeks.
    “nothing I can do he says”
    The fact that its taken me four weeks to get a response from them – they aren’t interested.
    I’ve had this machine for 7 weeks.
    Its not the £20 that bothers me, its the fact that they can’t care less!

    • giascott June 14, 2012 at 10:59 am #

      It’s too bad that Tassimo customer service hasn’t improved, in the USA or in the UK. I did like the machine, however, it wasn’t good enough to make me overlook the absolutely horrible customer service. When you encounter something like this, make sure you review their product and service everywhere–we can’t actually punish the companies for being so awful, but we can make it more difficult for them to sell their products/services without making changes! Customers who choose something else because Tassimo (or any company, for that matter) is delivering poor customer service, substandard products, etc., are voting with their money.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tassimo Customer (cough inserted here) Service–Round 3 « Gia Scott - October 14, 2010

    […] outsourced their customer no-service to?  (If you missed the initial posting about Tassimo, click here and catch up on the tale of […]

Leave a Reply

