Spam, assholes, and advertisments

26 Apr

The sun has set, as far as I’m concerned, Sunday is over, and along with it, the mandate to “be nice on Sundays” from my childhood.

I’m aggravated.  Why in the sam hell do people feel a need to spam a blog with commercial links of dubious reliability?  Do people ever actually click on them and buy stuff?  Somewhere, sometime, it has to pay off, because these assholes devote immense amounts of time to posting this garbage.  I get it here already.  I get it on the podcast blog too.  I get it in my email, all of my email accounts.  If I had a penny for each one that I’d had to delete in the last 12 months, I’d be buying a new car with the cash.

Who buys from them?  Everything I have ever read about spammers indicates that they take the money just fine, but things go downhill from there.  At best, you are out the money for the goods, at worse, they sell your credit card.  Why in the hell would anyone risk buying from such a dubious source?

I work on a website regularly.  We’ve tried advertising on the website to help defray the cost of maintaining it, because even though neither Greg nor I receive any money for doing it, it still costs money, and plenty of it.  We have multiple domains, a large website, and another site for handling the podcasts.  Take a look at them: www.exogenynetwork.com is the website, and our podcasts are found at http://blog.giascott.com Advertisements on the website don’t add up in a year to enough to pay for the websites for a month.  We discovered we were good at delivering impressions, but lousy at getting people to buy from the links on our site.  End of that experiment! We now have Amazon powered links for convenience of our readers, and no hopes that it will potentially pay for the website.

I still don’t get the spam thing.  I’m told its done by automated bots who troll the web and find blogs to post crap to.  Almost all of them have a protection system that requires approval by the owner, so no one sees the garbage anyhow.  So where is the pay off in all of this annoyance?  For anyone?

I do advertise, but I don’t advertise things I consider garbage.  If someone wants me to advertise or review a product for them, I’ve done it.  I do it all the time, it’s part of what I do.  Do I get paid a lot? No, normally all I receive for a review is the product itself, whether its a 75 cent can of vegetables or a $600 piece of  software.  Advertising fees vary, depending on how it is being handled.  But if you are a legitimate company, and you really want to advertise your product in a legitimate way, just get in touch with me.  The worst I can say is no, after all.  On book reviews, I have so many in my backlog right now, I am not real enthusiastic about reviewing more.  On those, if I can’t say something nice, it is going to be a while before they are published, because the good books jump to the head of the line.

If you are a spammer, with a dubious company and website, get a life and find better hunting grounds.  This blog has a spam filter and I have to approve comments.  I may approve almost all, but I don’t approve any spam ones!

Don’t you wish you could DO something to spammers though?  It’s so annoying and frustrating to have to deal with that garbage every single day.  It makes junk mail actually look useful!

Leave a Reply

